Just Beet It, Gluten-Free Beet Brownies

My 7-year-old once told me half-jokingly, half in admiration, “Mom, you’re like a mad scientist in the kitchen!” I suppose if there were a more apt description of my approach to cooking, it would be that. I love to take foods that you normally wouldn’t consider as something that would go together and I bend the rules and make it work anyway. Thankfully, my creations so far have resulted in surprisingly delicious flavor blends.

And I’m excited to share them with you! Last week, as part of our CSA box, we received these beautiful organic beets. I was so thrilled because our family loves betters. Typically, we love to add them to salads, saute or grill them. But the beets that we got were a bit on the small side and there weren’t really enough of them to have enough for a side dish.


So I sat there thinking, what could I do with these beets? And then a light bulb went on! I have made spinach brownies, carrot brownies, why not make beet brownies?

The key to making these brownies is to shred the beets thinly.


I saved the beet greens because they are delicious sautéed!

And from here, it was a matter of mixing the wet ingredients with the dry.

The result is this ooey-gooey, super decadent, fudgey brownie that is just pure heaven! In case you’re wondering, if the brownie taste too beet-like, I had my kids and my husband try to guess what the secret ingredient was and they didn’t have a clue. Win-win!

I topped my brownies with chocolate frosting that I quickly made from scratch. Chocolate on top of chocolate? Yes, please!

I highly encourage you to give these brownies a try!

Brownie Recipe

  • 2 1/2 cups brown rice flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 cup unsweetend cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1-2 cups raw beets
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 cup coconut oil (melted)
  • 4 eggs

Dark Chocolate Frosting

  • 1 cup dark chocolate
  • 1/2 cup thick coconut cream (I got mine from Trader Joe’s)
  • 2 tbsp pure maple syrup

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease an 8×8 glass baking dish.
  2. Combine beets, maple syrup, vanilla, almond milk, eggs, and coconut oil. Fit together flour, baking powder, and cocoa powder. Slowly incorporate the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients. Food in until completely mixed well.
  3. Pour brownie mixture into baking dish. Bake for 40-45 minutes or until it passes toothpick test (toothpick comes out clean). Cool completely.

Frosting instructions

  1. In a saucepan, melt dark chocolate slowly over low heat.
  2. Once the chocolate has completely melted, remove from heat and mix in coconut cream and maple syrup. Whisk until well combined.
  3. Place in fridge to cool and to allow to set slightly so it becomes a little firm.
  4. Once brownies have completely cooled, spread the frosting over the brownie. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

